My Account

The seven chakras & the rainbow within...

The seven chakras & the rainbow within...

The seven chakras derive from the philosophies of Hinduism and Buddhism. They are central energy points throughout the body, that link to different organs and glands. Energy flows through them all to evenly distribute chi or praana (life energy) throughout the body.

When one chakra is blocked it can manifest itself in different ways in our lives, from illness to emotional problems. Yoga, meditation and colour therapy can help release these blockages.



Colour is literally all around us. Scientifically, it's waves of light travelling through space. Our eyes register different wavelengths as different colours. Each chakra in our body matches to the vibration of a certain colour.

If you meditate and focus on the chakra's colour, it can release the blockage occurring within that chakra.

Crown Chakra - VIOLET

Areas: Central nervous system, the brain, the pituitary gland, the cerebral cortex

Influence: Information, knowledge & peace with your world

Blockage: Migraines, anxiety, forgetfulness 

Colour visualisation: Decisiveness, trust, structure

Gemstone: Amethyst

Brow Chakra - INDIGO

Areas: Eyes, head, pituitary gland

Influence: Perception, wisdom, intuition & spiritual awareness

Blockage: Lack of foresight, memory loss & depression

Colour visualisation: Courage, clarity, awe

Gemstone: Labradorite 

Throat Chakra - BLUE

Areas:  Neck, shoulders, arms, hands, thyroid & parathyroid glands

Influence: Self-expression, honesty, creativity & communication

Blockage: Lack of communication, dishonesty, creative blocks

Colour visualisation: Decisiveness, clarity, freedom

Gemstone: Aquamarine, Lapis Lazuli

Heart Chakra - GREEN

Areas: Heart & central organs

Influence: Relationships, love, compassion

Blockage: Lung & heart problems, poor immunity & lack of compassion

Colour visualisation: Balance, love, trust

Gemstone: Malachite, Rose Quartz

Solar Plexus Chakra - YELLOW

Areas: Digestive system, muscles, pancreas & adrenals

Influence: Willpower, feelings, ambitions & achievements

Blockage: Lack of direction, anger, inability to express oneself

Colour visualisation: Self-control, vision, trust

Gemstone: Malachite

Sacral Chakra - ORANGE

Areas: Lower abdomen, kidneys, bladder & your reproductive organs

Influence: Sexuality, desire, pleasure & creativity

Blockage: Sexual guilt, obsessive behaviour, emotional issues

Colour visualisation: Gratitude, self-love, independence

Gemstones: Carnelian, Moonstone

Base Chakra - RED

Areas: Legs, feet, bones, large intestine & adrenal glands

Influence: Groundedness, relationship to earth, safety

Blockage: Inflammation of the body, fear, defensiveness, procrastination 

Colour visualisation: Security, courage, confidence

Gemstone: Red Tiger's Eye

Colour therapy assists with getting your chakras back in balance. Here's a simple exercise you can try to help balance your chakras:

Identify which chakras may feel out of balance. Place something of the corresponding colour on the associate energy point. Visualise the colour being absorbed into that area, and the feelings associated with that colour.

Throughout the ages gemstones of different colours have been paired with their corresponding chakra for their believed healing properties. For example Carnelian and Moonstone have been used to balance the sacral chakra, and Aquamarine and Lapis Lazuli have been used to harmonise the throat chakra.

Interested in the qualities different colours possess? Take our test to see which coloured gemstone best suits you.

Yoga and meditation also help get your chakras back in balance. Make time for yoga weekly, and try our daily meditation app if you haven't yet.